Friday Free-for-all

2

November 30, 2012 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

So, I did a bunch yesterday hence the skimpy, but useful (for me) post. I burned the burnable trash, I replaced the crappy nightstand I had with the nightstand we found in the crawl space, I tidied up around the stairs (much unpacking has gone on next to the stairs, so a lot of miscellaneous items had been accumulating on the side—all that stuff now has a home). I changed the sheets, did a load of laundry, fed Murray, and made a What’s In The Fridge Soup, made with what we had in the fridge: potatoes, white onions, celery, carrots, spinach, garlic, parsley, and half a sweet chili pepper, diced. Start with a veggie bouillon cube in some water. Eyeball it. How much soup do you want? Bring water to boil, let the cube disintegrate, then add your veggies. Want meat? Add meat. We only eat fish, so we eat a fair amount of tofu and meat substitute. I cook up two Quorn cutlets in the oven, cube them, and add the to the soup when the veggies are nearing completion. Salt and pepper. It all looks likes this:

Chopped veggies.

Chopped veggies.

Cookity-cook...

Cookity-cook…

Noms with a chunk of homemade bread from earlier in the week.

Noms with a chunk of homemade bread from earlier in the week.

I’m going to be taking the weekends off from blogging. I feel like I should—I have so much to do around here and sometimes just getting a blog post out keeps me from doing as much as I’d like to. So, weekends. Lots of work to get done on the weekends. That said, I wanted to leave you with a few links to keep you entertained.

Eventually, we’re planning on solar panels, so this was interesting. Down to Earth is an Aussie blog, but I’m sure the parallels are sufficient. Here she talks about saving electricity.

We also have big plans to turn the barn basement into a work space, which will include wood working. The Shed and Beyond, another Aussie blog, has a swell post on finishing small turned items.

To sort of go with yesterday’s post, here’s a review of Maiden’s vinyl reissues of The Trooper over at The Metal Adviser. \m/ \m/ Also, 10 Best Metal Songs of 2012? Opinions?

This is the work of a friend of a friend: WhimsicalFolk. Kinda creepy-crafty…I like.

And lastly, a little happy news.

Have a swell weekend, folks.

2 thoughts on “Friday Free-for-all

  1. iheartsatan says:

    CHUCK BILLY, FUCK YEAH!!!!

Leave a Reply

