Where-the-heck-have-I-been Wednesday (Garden Edition)

1

December 12, 2012 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

The Plot.

The Plot.

No post yesterday; my apologies. My house feels like a thousand-piece puzzle with, for some inexplicable reason, a hundred extra pieces. I’m trying to deal with the extra pieces now. I’ve also been trying to finish this crocheted tree…thing. It’s not a “skirt” per se, but more like a really ruffly table cloth to go under the tree (as it’s a small tree, sitting on a round-top table. I’m this close to being finished—pictures when I am.

2013Catalog_coverThe crocheting has been the main distraction (that and the SVU fest I keep having every time I sit down for “just a little bit to crochet”). Another distraction, though—it’s seed catalog time. Yes, that time of year when the seed catalogs start showing up in the post. So far, I’ve gotten one each from the Seed Savers Exchange and the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange. I’ve already sat down with the first and circled about $120 worth of seed packets I want. I’m dying to sit down with the other now. I’m going to have to control myself.

We need to go out and measure the actual footage of the garden plot. It’s big. I think we can manage about eight 4’x 10′ or 12′ beds in it. We’ve decided on beds because the previous owner, whose mother worked that plot probably sixty or so years, said that erosion’s done a job on it over the decades—when she was a kid, it was great. Now, too shallow. So, beds it is. Which is fine, really. It’ll bring everything up a little and so maybe not wreak so much havoc on my back, and we can have gravelly paths between for easy walking/wheel-barrowing through it.

2013-catalog-coverI took a gardening class last spring (hoping I could do something in the apartment we were in, but alas, the conditions were too impossible). The conditions are now perfect. I still have the workbook they gave us, and I’m excited to get back into it and plan out the garden. Where best to plant the corn and sunflowers? Which veggies work best near each other? Should I grow anything extra to keep away/attract certain insects? And most important, what should we grow? What will serve our needs best fresh and what will preserve best for the winter? Man, I really just want to drop everything and just plan, plan, plan. I’ve been waiting years to have a proper garden. I can’t wait to get my hands dirty.

Is anyone else out there doing a little growing this coming season? Plot, buckets/pots, or windowsill? While you’re thinking about that, listen to this: Rush’s Garden Road.

One thought on “Where-the-heck-have-I-been Wednesday (Garden Edition)

  1. […] so, I blogged about being excited about the upcoming growing season and ordering seeds and such. In that post, I thought maybe we’d be able to get eight 4′x10′ or 12′ beds in the garden […]

Leave a Reply

