Resolute

10

January 1, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

I'll bet you some of these people broke their resolutions for that year.

I’ll bet you some of these people broke their resolutions for that year.

I haven’t made a proper “New Year’s Resolution” in years because I’ve always thought that they were sort of made to be broken. Well, I decided that they are only so if you set yourself up for failure; as in, resolving to diet and exercise and lose weight and not gain it back…without considering the facts of food addiction, how processed foods affect the body, and whether or not we’re really wired to just jump into an exercise routine and never look back. I’m not saying that these things can’t be done. They can, and are, every day. I am saying, though, that if you don’t consider the whole picture and come up with an appropriate game plan to succeed, which few people with their New Year’s Resolutions do, you are setting yourself up for a whole lot of heartache and self-loathing.

I’ve decided to actually make a few this year, and I’m leaving diet, exercise, and weight loss out of it. So, here’s what I’ve come up with:

  1. I will have my massive garden and it will be a success. Additionally, I must learn to preserve food. If I’m going to grow this much food, I can’t afford not to learn various preserving methods. By the end of 2013, we will have a pantry and freezer full of home-grown edibles to take us through the winter.
  2. Before the end of 2013, I will be making and selling my own hand-crafted ceramic beads, jewelry, and other small items. I will not buy glaze; I will make my own. I have more ideas on this, but for now, I’ll leave it at that.
  3. I will make our soap. By the end of 2013, we will never buy another bar of soap again.
  4. I will make our detergent and cleaning products. By the end of 2013, we will never buy pre-made detergent or other cleaning products again.
  5. I will, at least, get the barn basement cleared and ready to transform into a workspace. By the end of 2013, we will not have an excuse to not be making that lovely old structure productive.

That’s all. And that’s enough. Some is a lot of work—the garden, the preserving, the bead-making, the glaze-making: getting all of that set up. The other things are initially time consuming because I haven’t done them before, but all I need to do is do them a few times and it’ll just become one of the things I do. I’m ready for it. The barn basement is just one big chore that needs to be taken care of. It is a beginning—after it’s cleared, we need to start transforming it into the workspace we want/need, and that’s another resolution altogether, and rather than add one more to 2013, we’ll save it for 2014, unless, of course, we happen to do so well with the rest that we actually get to it in 2013. Who knows?

What are the doable resolutions you’re setting for yourself?

On that note, here’s what’s going on in Serbia: Cobi’s Death with Resolution Hell.

10 thoughts on “Resolute

  1. Hi

    I am SO impressed with your goals. They really will let you live the dream won’t they!

    Good luck and Happy New Year!

    Sft x

  2. Anthony Everitt says:

    It’s a manifesto! :D

  3. Evan says:

    We’ll have to do some hot water bath/ steam canning.

  4. Great resolutions. I was so glad I didn’t make fitness/diet resolutions this year also. For the same reasons – that I didn’t want to make random resolutions that I didn’t think I could actually alter.
    Granted, the two I chose are going to be difficult enough, but I like yours. Makes me wish we were going to be here next winter so I could come jam/can with you in the summer. It’s my favorite part of country living.
    I am planning on making jam overseas though. I already told Kurt that I’m taking all my jam-making supplies and planning to find the most unique local fruits and veggies to experiment with.

Leave a Reply

