I Won Yesterday

6

January 2, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

Icy...

Icy…

I did. I rocked the shit out of the first day of the new year. It’s all downhill from here. I’m kidding; let’s hope it’s not. Harrr…but really…

First, I managed to release the small clear baking bowl from the inside of the coffee cup I inherited from my aunt. It seemed irreversibly stuck, but I got it loose!

First, I placed the cup in a small saucepan and filled the inside glass bowl with ice water.

First, I placed the cup in a small saucepan and filled the inside glass bowl with ice water.

Then, I filled the saucepan around the cup with hot-hot water.

Then, I filled the saucepan around the cup with hot-hot water.

Finally, I dumped it all in the saucepan (careful, cup is hot) and I beat the living shit out of the sides of the cup with that knife handle until...schlop! The bowl slid right out. I have my cup back!

Finally, I dumped it all in the saucepan (careful, cup is hot) and I beat the living shit out of the sides of the cup with that knife handle until…schlop! The bowl slid right out. I have my cup back!

It’s the little victories that make life worth living.

I also managed to finally make Murray a warmy box for the barn. I’ve been having trouble adjusting the the idea of having a barn cat. What’s the trouble, you ask? The trouble is that I’m not used to having a cat that’s not a fat, lazy bastard, entirely dependent on me for his very survival (I’m looking at you, Moggy). So, I worry more about Murray than I probably need to.

Last week, I threw some hay over a small crate to just sort of give him a warm covered place to sleep, but when I did that, I think I screwed up his whole thing. After that, he was gone from the barn more (despite the snow) and when he was there, he wasn’t in his usual spots and he would stay further away. I started to worry that whatever it was that I’d re-arranged out there would keep him from going to his usual warm spots.

I mentioned Moggy, right? Moggy, who would rather starve to death (not possible with his fat stores) than eat kibble he doesn’t like (as much as other kibble)…

Anyway…so, the snows came and I worried. Murray’s just a little cat with a small cat build. I pictured him in the drafty old barn—the barn in which snow can still get—curled up, shivering, miserable. When I heard last night that temperatures were going to get into the low teens tonight, I panicked. I don’t know how well I would deal with walking into the barn to a frozen little orange barn cat. So, I put something together today…

It’s not awesome, but it’ll do in a pinch, for sure. Needed: two cardboard boxes (one to fit inside another), some duct tape, scissors, some cat nip, and one drywall mask. Oh, and a bunch of hay. I cut the holes into the boxes for his entrance before I went out to the barn, and then…

...hay at the bottom of the bigger box...

…hay at the bottom of the bigger box…

...smaller box inside bigger box, hay at the bottom of smaller box, and cat nip, to pique his little cat interest...

…smaller box inside bigger box, hay at the bottom of smaller box, and cat nip, to pique his little cat interest…

...lid on smaller box, then stuff hay into gaps on all sides. Pack it tightly!

…lid on smaller box, then stuff hay into gaps on all sides. Pack it tightly and make sure the holes are lined up and clear of hay!

Finally, hay on top of the smaller box. Then, shut the flaps as best you can and...

Finally, hay on top of the smaller box. Then, shut the flaps as best you can and…

...duct tape that sucker shut.

…duct tape that sucker shut.

I set it next to his regular hay bales.

I set it next to his regular hay bales.

While I was up there placing his new warmy box, I noticed a number of little burrow spots he’d made in the hay. So, now, generally, I feel better for him. I mean, I know he’s not stupid and he’s going to find some way to stay warm, especially in a big-ass barn full of hay, but…did I mention Moggy? The cat I saved from a pipe under a bridge in a alley (no kidding)? So, now Murray’s got all his burrow spots and a warmy box, just in case he needs it. Now, if we can find a way to keep his water from freezing, we’d be set. Until then, we take the trek out to the barn every day and make sure he’s watered and fed.

I know, it’s just two things. I mean, I did other things. I made sure Murray’s path was clear to the spring again, for when his water does freeze and he’s thirsty. I saw that he’s been using the path I made for him. Then, I let Moggy have his daily snowy romp.

Moggy's delicate little pud prints on the porch.

Moggy’s delicate little pud prints on the porch.

I cleaned some veggies; I made some juice. I wrote. I did other things. But I’m happy these two things worked out. I’ve got my aunt’s mug back and didn’t have to break it, and I can sleep at night now knowing that Murray is much less likely to freeze to death out there. And speaking of which…

And now, your metal for the day. You may have heard to Darkthrone. Before they were Darkthrone, they were a death metal band called Black Death. Call me crazy, but I like this phase of the band better than the black metal phase. But then, I’m partial to death over black. That’s just me. Check it out: Here’s Black Death’s Freeze to Death (+ Peace After All).

6 thoughts on “I Won Yesterday

  1. Great post. I completely understand your desire to take care of Murray. We weren’t allowed to have cats in the house when I was little, so it was the most torturous thing when I got my first kitten (a tiny black cat I uniquely named “Midnight”) to have to wonder if he would be alive and hanging around the house each morning. He became quite a neighborhood tom and I never did find out what became the end of him, because those outdoor cats have a way of just disappearing one day. I love that you have a barn cat and an indoor cat and blog about your daily adventures on the farm. I really look forward to reading what you’re up to in the ‘noth country!

  2. Anthony Everitt says:

    I’d like to say also, you can really hear the hellhammer influence.

  3. […] We’ve been doing our best with him: he’s got all the hay a cat could want, plus a hay-insulated box, and we’ve been changing his water as frequently as we can, so it’s not always frozen. […]

Leave a Reply

