Mini Greenhouse Is Up!

2

March 6, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

I finally got the little greenhouse up in the sun room! That sucker required much more time than it looks, but it’s up and ready to roll.

Moved some stuff around in the sun room; it hasn't been vaccumed in months (we don't really use it during the winter) so I don't see much reason too until this whole seed-starting adventure plays itself out.

Moved some stuff around in the sun room; it hasn’t been vacuumed in months (we don’t really use it during the winter) and I don’t see much reason to until this whole seed-starting adventure plays itself out.

Put down a couple of drop cloths and got my little greenhouses ready to go.

Put down a couple of drop cloths and got my little greenhouses ready to go.

Moggy inspects everything, makes sure all the parts are there.

Moggy inspects everything, makes sure all the parts are there.

Mogg Pogg, hard at work.

Mogg Pogg, hard at work.

Growing...

Growing…

Scary greenhouse skeleton...look away!

Scary greenhouse skeleton…look away!

And...with its skin.

And…with its skin.

As you can see int he photos above, the shelves are really narrow, and there is no back shelf. Fixed this with a few planks across the back...

As you can see in the photos above, the shelves are really narrow, and there is no back shelf. Fixed this with a few planks across the back…

Each flat should hold about thirty little newspaper pots, of about wine-bottle width. So, here's space for 180 seedlings. On the front side shelves, I can find narrower boxes to hold the rest, as I only need about 20 more pots.

Each flat should hold about thirty little newspaper pots, of about wine-bottle width. So, here’s space for 180 seedlings. On the front side shelves, I can find narrower boxes to hold the rest, as I only need about 20 more pots.

Over the next day or so, I'll be able to figure out how hot it gets and stays in there. It's up against our south-facing windows, so it should get a fair amount of sun/heat.

Over the next day or so, I’ll be able to figure out how hot it gets and stays in there. It’s up against our south-facing windows, so it should get a fair amount of sun/heat.

And there we have it!

And there we have it!

I had gotten two of these little greenhouses, but one turns out to be big enough. Later, as the plants grow and the weather gets warmer, I might set up the second one outside, near the house (if I can secure it from any possible wind and such), to transfer them and maybe make the hardening off process easier.

There is no convenient heating in the sun room. It has a gas fireplace, but that really blows up our gas bill when we use it too much. So, the sun room is always very cold (honestly, I’m not even sure it’s insulated). However, if it turns out to be too cold and it doesn’t retain enough heat inside its plastic skin from the day, I can run a small space heater to sit inside the greenhouse and keep the temps reasonable. I would just have to keep an eye on the watering, just in case the forced hot air dries things out too much.

And, voila! Tomorrow, I will spend some time making my first batch of paper pots. I’ve got my compost and my vermiculite; I’ve got my seeds. Peppers, here we go!

And you had to see this coming: Here’s Testament‘s “Greenhouse Effect.” (I’m happy to have en excuse to post Testament. I fucking love Testament.)

2 thoughts on “Mini Greenhouse Is Up!

  1. Anthony Everitt says:

    Vermiculite and compost are now transfered from my car into the sun room and ready to rock. ;)

Leave a Reply

