Nothing Has Died Yet!

2

March 20, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

I’m happy to announce that, so far, nothing in the greenhouse has died, to my knowledge. In fact, things are starting to turn green!

This is Day One of our Amish Moon & Stars Melons:

I first noticed this on March 13th.

I first noticed this on March 13th.

Aren't they cute?

Aren’t they cute?

Some were moving faster than others. In four pots, both seeds planted sprouted. In the other two, just one did (so good thing I planted two!).

Some were moving faster than others. In four pots, both seeds planted sprouted. In the other two, just one did (so good thing I planted two!).

These little spindly guys kept popping up...

These little spindly guys kept popping up…

...so I snagged them

…so I snagged them

I snagged a bunch of them. =)

I snagged a bunch of them. =)

This was just later int he day.

This was just later in the day.

Not wasting any time, these guys.

Not wasting any time, these guys.

Pretty soon, they'll be dating girls and asking for the keys to the Honda.

Pretty soon, they’ll be dating girls and asking for the keys to the Honda.

Day Two-Three:

Day Two: Morning

Sprout, sprout…

Day Two: Afternoon

…wriggle, squirm…

Day Two: Evening

“Grigglies.” Yes, that’s a scientific term.

Day Four:

...I started to lose track...

…I started to lose track…

Holy crap, look at them go!

Holy crap, look at them go!

Seriously, I wasn't expecting them to just take off like that. Very cool.

Seriously, I wasn’t expecting them to just take off like that. Very cool.

Bonus: When I went to take the pics of the melons, I noticed a couple of the Anaheim Peppers starting to sprout...

Bonus: When I went to take the pics of the melons, I noticed a couple of the Anaheim Peppers starting to sprout…

...just starting. So cute!

just starting. So cute!

Needless to say, I’m super stoked. I mean, there’s still so much time and opportunity left to kill everything, so I’m trying not to get too excited…but, dang, look at them!

Now, I understand melons are sensitive to transplant, and I’ll do the best I can (they really needed to be started indoors, what with their lengthy growing time). Let’s wish them well!

Imagine these little guys growing up through the soil, listening to Blow Torch Sodomy‘s “13 Pound Watermelon Head,” their little leaves forming into little horned hands… \m/ \m/

2 thoughts on “Nothing Has Died Yet!

  1. Linne says:

    Ok, Kriscinda . . . WHAT is green?? (we have only white here and more white and . . . oh, am I being redundant? :->

    Seriously, nice to hear such happy, spring-y news! Grow on, you seedlings, grow! ~ Linne

    • Kriscinda says:

      Right? It’s nice to see something sprouting up in our little indoor greenhouse, and then we look out the window and it’s just snow, snow, snow… *sigh*

Leave a Reply

