Friday Free For All: Muffin Edition

4

March 22, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

Last week, Old World Garden Farms posted this nice-looking recipe for wheaty-oaty nanner muffins (follow the link for the recipe). I was in the mood for something sweet-ish, and I saw that we had everything we needed (minus the honey, which Big A was kind enough to go get), so I thought I’d give them a go.

Tools.

Tools. No, no the dish soap. Unless you dig on that sort of thing.

Got my dry ingredients, wheat flour, rolled outs, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.

Got my dry ingredients: wheat flour, rolled outs, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.

About to mush my nanners.

About to mush my nanners.

Nanners sufficiently mushed. I actually used a potato masher.

Nanners sufficiently mushed. I actually used a potato masher.

My mushed nanners with my dry ingredients, a 1/2-cup of honey, and then the vanilla extract.

My mushed nanners with my dry ingredients, a 1/2-cup of honey, and then the vanilla extract.

This recipe actually makes twelve.

This recipe actually makes twelve.

And...yums.

And…yums.

Also, noms and gobs.

Also, noms and gobs.

Now, you might notice that their pictures look very different. I chalk that up to different rolled oat-grinding techniques. They used a food processor; I used a coffee grinder (which produced a finer powder). I think next time I’ll grind 3/4 of the cup used, and then just add the remaining quarter-cup as is, just for some texture. Maybe sprinkle some on top. Whatever the case, I’m definitely adding walnuts or something. Otherwise, plain as they are, they were very tasty. We had a few, and then we delivered some to the neighbors (the good neighbors, not the bad neighbors). Even had some left over the next day to give to a visiting friend. It’s nice to be able to do that now and then.

And here’s a matching recipe of METAL: Canada’s Excavator with “Evil Oats,” “Rotted Wheat” by NY’s Yellow Eyes, Spain’s Obsidian Kingdom‘s “Cinnamon Balls,” Florida’s Assück with “Salt Mine,” and (fuck yeah) “Honey Bucket” by the Melvins.

\m/ TASTY. \m/

4 thoughts on “Friday Free For All: Muffin Edition

  1. iheartsatan says:

    Assuck and Melvins in one post?!? =D

  2. Linne says:

    Hello, my friend! I have awarded you the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award. Please see my post today for information. (Note that you may use short answers to the seven questions; I just never know when to stop!). You SO deserve this award, for you, like the other recipients, have inspired me many times. :-) ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

