Friday Free For All: Mushroom Edition

4

March 29, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

I haven’t really liked mushrooms for years, which is pretty silly, considering I liked them when I was a kid. I can’t pinpoint exactly when I suddenly stopped liking and eating mushrooms, nor can I remember the reason for it. So, considering that, I decided that, absent a good reason to not eat mushrooms, I will eat mushrooms.

We needed a no-fuss, light dinner the other night, so I just scrounged what was in the fridge: Tojo mushrooms, onion, celery, and carrot. I chopped a bunch of it up, more mushrooms than anything. While I did that, some water and a couple of Rapunzel veggie bouillon cubes heated in the crock pot.

TwentyThirdMarch201309

TwentyThirdMarch201310 TwentyThirdMarch201311 TwentyThirdMarch201312 TwentyThirdMarch201313

A little salt and pepper and a few hours of simmering in the pot…voila! A tasty veggie-based soup that had a filling, “meaty” quality to it. Served with the last few slices of the No-Knead Dutch Oven Bread…nom nom…

And now, more metal mushroom than you can shake a wooden soup spoon at: “Mushroom Hell” by the Czech Republic’s Cerebral Turbulency; Canada’s Zimmers Hole with “Mushroom Mattress“; “Mushroom Cloud Solution” by Sweden’s Mortem Parto Humano; from France, Goat River‘s “Mount Rushmore’s Mushroom.” And, oh my God, one more from Canada; everyone put your hands together for THOR with “Mushroom World.”

Thor

4 thoughts on “Friday Free For All: Mushroom Edition

  1. Linne says:

    Thanks for the Canadian band references. Don’t know when I’ll get to listening to music again, but I’ll keep these in mind. You are SO good for broadening my horizons . . . ;-)

  2. Linne says:

    Obviously brain-dead here; I loved your soup recipe, meant to comment on it (a big thank you! as I love soup AND mushrooms!), read the rest of the post and wandered off somewhere . . . so, thanks for the soup! ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

