Homemade Pasta!

1

April 1, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

So, the other day I made pasta. I’ve made pasta once before, without a pasta maker. It turned out tasty, but really ugly.

We got a pasta maker and stand to dry it as wedding presents, which is awesome, and I finally got to set aside an afternoon to put it to some use.

Pieces.

Pieces.

Ingrediants.

Ingredients.

Wet and dry.

Wet and dry.

Splat.

Splat.

My counters weren't deisnged for pasta makers, so I clamped it to my biggest cutting board. It was sometimes awkward, but sturdy enough for the most part.

My counters weren’t designed for pasta makers, so I clamped it to my biggest cutting board. It was sometimes awkward, but sturdy enough for the most part.

Feeding the dough through.

Feeding the dough through.

PastaMaking08

Some flat dough. I think it was too dry, but hey, I'll get it right(er) next time.

Some flat dough. I think it was too dry, but hey, I’ll get it right(er) next time.

Feeding it through the cutting attachment...

Feeding it through the cutting attachment…

...gives you squiggly, stumpy, deformed noodles.

…gives you squiggly, stumpy, deformed noodles.

First crappy batch.

First crappy batch.

Well, it still tasted good.

Well, it still tasted good.

Next batch was better---I rolled each noodle between my fingers while it was still soft enough and it lengthened them.

Next batch was better—I rolled each noodle between my fingers while it was still soft enough and it lengthened them.

Off the rack.

Off the rack.

Mmmmm...

Mmmmm…

Wrapped up and refrigerated for that night's dinner.

Wrapped up and refrigerated for that night’s dinner.

Cooked and strained.

Cooked and strained.

Tossed with some sauteed zucchini, yellow squash, onions, garlic, and mushrooms.

Tossed with some sauteed zucchini, yellow squash, onions, garlic, and mushrooms.

Close up. *drool*

Close up. *drool*

So, it ended up tasting really, really good. And in the end, as far as homemade pasta goes, it looked pretty good, too. I say it was a success all the way around. Big A liked it.

And now to completely ruin your appetite, here’s Post Mortem with “Noodles in my Bile,” which is actually pretty awesome.

One thought on “Homemade Pasta!

Leave a Reply

