Homemade Dish Soap!

6

April 3, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

I’d been telling myself every time the dish soap gets low that I will look into making it. I finally did. So, here’s the recipe I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups of hot water
  • 1/2 of liquid Castile soap (I used Dr. Bronner’s)
  • 1 tbsp of white vinegar
  • 1tbsp of Arm & Hammer’s Super Washing Soda
  • 1 tbsp of shredded bar soap (to thicken it)
  • 1/8 teaspoon essential oil (I used lavender)

First, combine the ingredients into a large bowl, then pour in the water. Whisk/stir until blended.

Stuff needed: Washing Soda, Liquid Castile Soap, White Vinegar, Hot Water, Bar o' Soap and essential oil (optional).

Stuff needed: Washing Soda, Liquid Castile Soap, White Vinegar, Hot Water, Bar o’ Soap and essential oil (optional).

Grated soap.

Grated soap.

I put in some lavendar essential oil, for its anti-bacterial qualities and for its good stink.

I put in some lavender essential oil, for its anti-bacterial qualities and for its good stink.

Pour the hot water. Boiling, in fact. This is to melt the soap shavings.

Pour the hot water. Boiling, in fact. This is to melt the soap shavings.

Give it a stir.

Give it a stir.

Not all of the shavings had melted, but whatever.

Not all of the shavings had melted, but whatever.

This is where the picture-taking ends. At this point, it was still pretty liquidy, but it was hot and I was tired of stirring it. So, I went and took a hot bath.

While I was relaxing in the tub, Big A had a look at the concoction and decided it WAS NOT THICK ENOUGH. So he proceeded to grate half the bar of soap and mix it in. By the time I got out of the tub, there was a soapy mess in the kitchen. However, the stuff in the bowl was much thicker. About store-bought thickness, which is nice. The shredded soap, though, wasn’t melted enough, so we added more boiling water and let it sit overnight.

The next morning, it was hard. And now we know why the original recipe says just a tablespoon of grated bar soap. Big A’s instincts were right, but being the novices that we are, we could not have known…

In the end, we just kept adding boiling water and letting it cool until we got the consistency we wanted. So, as it is sits (now in the old store-bought dish soap bottle), it is thick, but soft enough to squeeze out, slightly lumpy, but it doesn’t matter. It cleans the dishes! Smells pretty good, too.

Lesson learned: Do not leave unattended concoctions laying around.

Here’s Epileptic Brain Surgeons with “Soap.”

6 thoughts on “Homemade Dish Soap!

  1. Linne says:

    Reblogged this on A Random Harvest and commented:
    Why I love Heavy Metal Homesteader! I never got around to looking into this, so thanks for doing it for me, Kriscinda. I will strive to follow the recipe . . . ;-P

  2. You did it. Fantastic!

    Sft x

  3. I will have to try this. I tried to make some a couple of weeks ago using what I thought might work and it didn’t :)

Leave a Reply

