Busy, Busy With Pics

Leave a comment

April 10, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

Busy, busy. So busy, I missed Monday’s post. Well, at least when I do post, it’s full of documented proof of how busy I’ve been. In fact, here’s some right now:

I caught Murray sun bathing. He was also licking his cat belly, but I'm sure would deny it if pressed.

I caught Murray sun bathing. He was also licking his cat belly, but I’m sure would deny it if pressed.

Garden area: Cleared. So clear, in fact, it was ready to enclose...

Garden area: Cleared. So clear, in fact, it was ready to enclose…

...the rocking horse from the barn. I think he's going to be a permanent resident of the garden.

…Kevin, the rocking horse from the barn. I think he’s going to be a permanent resident of the garden.

Started clearing around the corner of the barn where the rain barrels will go. This little tree has been growing up through a sheet of roofing that had fallen quite some time ago.

Started clearing around the corner of the barn where the rain barrels will go. This little tree has been growing up through a sheet of roofing that had fallen quite some time ago.

This is all I had to work with, but it did work. Now, to figure out how to dig the stump out when we can't get to the dirt around it. =/

This is all I had to work with, but it did work. Now, to figure out how to dig the stump out when we can’t get to the dirt around it. =/

Disassembled trees. I will let them sit there and dry out a bit. I think I'm going to use them to stake the tomatoes.

Disassembled trees. I will let them sit there and dry out a bit. I think I’m going to use them to stake the tomatoes.

Aaaand...clear on that side.

Aaaand…clear on that side.

Under the brush that was there, we had no idea there were also cinder blocks and garbage lurking.

Under the brush that was there, we had no idea there were also cinder blocks and garbage lurking.

Meanwhile, back at the house, crocheting is afoot.

Meanwhile, back at the house, crocheting is afoot.

Making a bunch of granny squares that I will then stitch together into a big afghan.

Making a bunch of granny squares that I will then stitch together into a big afghan.

Back outside, the lumber has arrived for the garden beds. We're excited to get them done, but we need to dig a trench through the garden space and put down a line for a spigot that will come up on the other side of the garden (where the eventual hoop house will be).

Back outside, the lumber has arrived for the garden beds. We’re excited to get them done, but we need to dig a trench through the garden space and put down a line for a spigot that will come up on the other side of the garden (where the eventual hoop house will be).

Mogg Pogg...

Mogg Pogg…

...sleeps.

…sleeps.

Back to clearing...treasure?

Back to clearing…treasure?

Sunbury April Tenth19

…ehh, nope.

When I asked the previous owners how they watered the garden with no source near it, she smiled and said she let God take care of it. Apparently, they didn't trust God to take care of the weeds and bugs. *sigh*

When I asked the previous owner how they watered the garden with no source near it, she smiled and said she let God take care of it. How cute. Apparently, they didn’t trust God to take care of the weeds and bugs. *sigh*

Ponch lost his sunglasses by the pile o' crap by the barn.

Ponch lost his sunglasses in the pile o’ crap by the barn.

One little stump down (or, up and out, I should say).

One little stump down (or, up and out, I should say).

Treasure!

Treasure!

Aaand...clear. Except for those rocks. Guess what I found in the rocks...

Aaand…clear. Except for those rocks. Guess what I found in the rocks…

...crawlies! These things right here...they freak me out. *shudder*

…crawlies! These things right here…they freak me out. *shudder*

I saved and relocated three Woolly Bears.

I saved and relocated three Woolly Bears.

I also relocated this little guy to a different, but sufficiently shady and damp rock pile on the other side of the barn.

I also relocated this little guy to a different, but sufficiently shady and damp, rock pile on the other side of the barn.

We had speaks and she left.

We had speaks and she left.

And this. Two small pieces of pole-things stuck in the ground. (?)

And this. Two small pieces of pole-things stuck in the ground. (?)

My pile o' rocks. These, I think, will end up edging a fire pit at the back of the property,.

My pile o’ rocks. These, I think, will end up edging a fire pit at the back of the property,.

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

Looked like rain, so I dragged a tarp out of the barn. It was just big enough to cover the lumber.

Looked like rain, so I dragged a tarp out of the barn. It was just big enough to cover the lumber.

Grass is getting greener!

Grass is getting greener!

These are the only daffodils on the property. They sit inconveniently a few feet from a pine tree, right in a prime mowing area. I will relocate them at some point.

These are the only daffodils on the property. They sit inconveniently a few feet from a pine tree, right in a prime mowing area. I will relocate them at some point.

Sunbury April Tenth35

Birds are EVERYWHERE. I love it. Sure beats the city!

Birds are EVERYWHERE. I love it. Sure beats the city!

That's me looking rather proud.

That’s me looking rather proud.

We tried to get the pressure washer that was left in the barn to work. We thought it was left because it had no hose. We got a hose, but it turns out the thing just doesn't work. Maybe we can get it prepared. We wanted to use it to clean out the tanks, but we'll have to borrow one now. =P

Big A tried to get the pressure washer that was left in the barn to work. We thought it was left because it had no hose. We got a hose, but it turns out the thing just doesn’t work. Maybe we can get it repaired. We wanted to use it to clean out the tanks, but we’ll have to borrow one now. =P

Happy cat...

Happy cat (don’t let that look fool you)…

...in the sun...

…in the sun…

...flips and flops.

…flips and flops.

Eats some grass.

Eats some grass.

Doesn't care about no zombies in the yard.

Doesn’t care about no zombies in the yard.

Finally met the neighbor with the big property next to ours.

Finally met the neighbor with the big property next to ours.

He plants trees and likes it. We actually chatted for a while. He seems like a good sort, and that's refreshing (some of our neighbors have been less impressive).

He plants trees and likes it. We actually chatted for a while. He seems like a good sort, and that’s refreshing (some of our neighbors have been less impressive).

Got this in the mail...FUN N GUN!!

Got this in the mail…FUN N GUN!!

This looks like a terrible combination.

This looks like a terrible combination.

Why am I thinking of 'Miami Vice?'

Why am I thinking of ‘Miami Vice?’

As you can see…busy. And this is just what we thought to take pictures of. Or, could. I’ve also been doing a lot of necessary reading and, of course, taking care for the grigglies in the greenhouse. I’m slightly concerned and a little confused about the Sage. It’s just being…weird. It’s hard to describe. They seem a bit listless, although they are not dying and they are getting a bit bigger. Their leaves, though, curl. I’ve read that they need good sun and to be regularly watered, but don’t do well if the soil is water-logged. I’ve been doing my best to comply, but…I dunno. My peppers, tomatoes, and melons are doing great, as is the basil and cumin. Oregano just seems a bit spindly and not particularly hardy. Well, we’ll see when the time comes.

Our friend Gary, whom I mentioned last week, is coming over this week to see how exactly we want to get the tanks ready and hooked up. If we’re lucky, we’ll have the system up and collecting water by the next big rain (I hope!). I’m planning a ploughmans’ lunch with a side of macaroni salad—a little English, a little American.

Oh, and I’m taking a break from the crocheting pictured here in order to make something for a silent auction in June. I’ll get pics of that up as it comes along.

That’s probably enough for now. I’ve got stuff I need to get doing, so I must get going! Here’s a dancing Mogg Pogg to tide you over ’til Friday (click on the dancing Moggy to get some tunes: ‘Black Cat Bone’ by Shock Absorber).

Hqi63u on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

make animated gifs like this at MakeAGif
Leave a Reply

