Dandelion Slug Feast

6

May 1, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

That was the best and most metal caption from today’s little gallery of pictures. Someone, if you have a metal band, please write a song called ‘Dandelion Slug Feast.’

Anywa, yesterday, I thought we would get a bunch more dirt moved around in the garden, but no. Instead, we had to deal with insurance and towing and garages and blah, blah, blah, because the tire of some lady’s car flew off and hit Big A’s car while he was driving. Though he is perfectly fine (really, he’s totally fine), his car might be totaled. So, we’ve been dealing with that. We still managed to get into the garden and throw some compost down on three beds that I’d like to get sown today.

After a somewhat ridiculous and long day, we each cracked open a cold one and had a stroll around the yard. I took some pictures, so this is what you get today: pictures. Enjoy…

Our asparagus haul from yesterday.

Our asparagus haul from yesterday.

I've never seen a single asparagus stalk this big before.

I’ve never seen a single asparagus stalk this big before.

We had some for dinner and I'm freezing the rest.

We had some for dinner and I’m freezing the rest.

Fiddleheads peeking through!

Fiddleheads peeking through!

Fernies getting tall!

Fernies getting tall!

Big A ties his boots so we can walk around.

Big A ties his boots so we can walk around.

Our single tulip.

Our single tulip.

What is this tree? Anyone?

What is this tree? Anyone?

Backyard.

Backyard.

Dandelion Slug Feast.

Dandelion Slug Feast.

...and Spider Fest...

…and Spider Fest…

30 of April 201312

Three headed Dandelion.

Three headed Dandelion.

Three headed Dandelion.

Three-headed Dandelion.

...and his mutant-mutant brother, five-headed Dandelion.

…and his mutant-mutant brother, five-headed Dandelion.

Kicking the cut grass...

Kicking the cut grass…

...weee...

…weee…

...and drinkin' beer...

…and drinkin’ beer…

Hawthorn.

Hawthorn.

30 of April 20132030 of April 201322

Oh! And my pressure canner came in!

Oh! And my pressure canner came in!

I hope I don't blow myself up.

I hope I don’t blow myself up.

6 thoughts on “Dandelion Slug Feast

  1. Sandy says:

    I am glad A is alright. Scary! I can;t imagine seeing a tire fly off a car and coming for you.

    • Kriscinda says:

      I can’t believe how calm he was about it when he called to tell me. Also, we found out later that something similar happened about a week or so ago. Someone was leaving that establishment after getting new tires, their tire flew off, but instead of it hitting someone else, a truck hit them when they lost control. A. got his winter tires from this place! We realized that he didn’t just dodge a bullet with that flying tire, he’s lucky his tires haven’t flown off as well!

  2. Linne says:

    Glad Big A’s ok. Hope the car thing works out for you.

    That deep pink flowered tree?? Looks a lot like the Japanese Crab Apple; we had a couple when I was a teen. However, it’s a bit hard to tell from my phone, so I could easily be wrong . . .

  3. Jeepers! Mega scary with the tyres. Here’s hoping the place gets shut down to prevent more accidents.
    I agree with Linne and was thinking crab apple too. I know nothing about such things but we had a tree that looked the same in bloom at our old place and I was advised it was a crab apple. It never grew any fruit though.
    I have the same pressure canner and was as scared as hell first time I used it but it’s sooo addictive. All I can say is thoroughly read the instructions (it took me several times over AND watching some YouTube vids to figure it out) and enjoy your new found major addiction! :)

    • Kriscinda says:

      Hmmm, I will keep an eye out for fruit! If there are none, it’s still awfully pretty to look at. =) And thanks! I’m almost positive I won’t lose a limb doing this, but you never know. I’ll bone up before I blow up. ;)

      • Linne says:

        If it’s the kind we had, it’s decorative wuth no edible fruit, but as you say, still lovely!

        Love your pressure cooker! I often dob’t read instructions, or follow ‘in my own way’, which makes for a ‘different’ sort of life; interesting, though ;-)
        However, for this, I highly recommend reading AND following the instructions (BEFORE using!!)

        I do not recommend cooking lentils in it, unless you enjoy scrubbing the ceiling . . . no, not my experience, thankfully, but I’ve read the horror stories :-)

        My Mum used one when I was a teen and years later bought a HUGE fancy one; she gave it to friends of mine when we had to move out of her house.

        They are not difficult to use, but there are a few rules worth following; have fun!!

Leave a Reply

