I’m Not Dead Yet.

2

May 22, 2013 by Kriscinda Lee Everitt

You would think something terrible had happened to me, what with a complete dearth of posts here as of late. Obviously, I am still here. But…yeah. Busy. So…update!

Oh, but first, go see the Spooks’ guest post over at Traveling Marla. They did one a little bit ago, but there’s a new one up today.

Now…

Seeds sown: both varieties of cucumber, the zukes, the summer squash, and pumpkins. Oh, and the pole beans and the cilantro. Sprouting are the sunflowers (had to be netted to stop the birds from snipping them off), corn, carrots, and dill. Tansplanted are the three types of ‘maters and three types of peppers. There’s been compost and mulch. There’s been about four tons of dirt beneath my fingernails. There’s been sunblock and sun hats. There has been after-garden beers. Left to do: a few more transplants, some more mulching, and we should be pretty well good to go.

Meanwhile, we’d been getting harassed by our neighbor about the state of our lawn. Honestly…we just don’t care. But in addition to our not caring, the fact is that our lawn tractor kept shitting the bed. So, someone came and picked it up for a look. It was one of those occasions where they could try something, but it may or may not work. Also, it’s an older tractor, so in addition to trial and error trouble-shooting with one problem, who knows how many more lie beneath? So we decided the best thing to do—if we ever wanted the lawn cut again—was to suck it up and buy a new one. So, we did. We got this, an Allis Chalmers AC130. There will be a cutting catcher arriving in a few days (and we’re not cutting the grass without it, or we’d have to rake and bale it). When the tractor first arrived, I let it sit in the driveway on that harassing neighbor’s side, just to tease him. And then proceeded to not cut the lawn.

Big A had some lady’s tire fly off her car and into his car, totalling his car (he is fine…not a scratch), so we’re down to one car at the moment until he replaces his. Being stranded has made me more active around the house, and so far, we now have an almost-pretty, functional patio on which to sit, relax, and hang out. Today, I think I will try to tackle the sun room, now that the seedlings are all out of there. It looks like a dirt cyclone hit it.

Now, we will be leaving for a trip to Florida soon to visit Big A’s grandfolks. We will be returning June 1st. Until then, if I manage to post here, it’ll probably be just pictures, but when I get back, I will move my way back into the swing of things blogging-wise. Promise. For now…some pics…

Baby robin on the back porch railing. The end of the story: Mama came, fed him something,, then flew away. Then, he pooped on our railing and also left. Hmmm...

Baby robin on the back porch railing. The end of the story: Mama came, fed him something, then flew away. Then, he pooped on our railing and also left. Hmmm…

Maters under our makeshift burlap sun/wind-protection tunnel.

Maters under our makeshift burlap sun/wind-protection tunnel.

Monty very desperately needed a good weeding.

Monty very desperately needed a good weeding.

Ahhh, better...

Ahhh, better…

Toadie hanging out in one of our pots. He got transferred over near the spring.

Toadie hanging out in one of our pots. He got transferred over near the spring.

And to our anal neighbor, I dedicate Synapse Defect‘s Friendly Lawn Darts.

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Dead Yet.

  1. Linne says:

    Glad you’re alive . . . ;-)
    Sounds like you’ve been a tad busy . . . not to worry; you won’t run out of things to do until after the snow comes; and then there’s the shovelling . . .

    Ok, I won’t harass you any more. Looking forward to pics of your trip. Nice you guys have grandfolks to visit. My grandfathers lived too far away to see much of them for most of my life and my grandmothers died well before I was born, so I do envy anyone with grandmas, especially. Have a wonderful time; I expect you’ll come back to blossoms and small fruit bits.

    ~ Linne

    • Kriscinda says:

      It’s nice that I now have his grandfolks. =) I never met my mother’s father, or my father’s mother, and both the others were gone by the time I was 12. =P These two, though…they’re both in their 90s and every time we go visit them, they run us into the ground. They’re awesome. =)

Leave a Reply

